European Quartet One Melody

8 Polish and 8 Ukrainian wooden Eastern-Ortodox churches (tserkvas) were included on the UNESCO list.  In Poland these are churches in:  Kwiaton, Chotyniec, Turzansk, Radruz, Smolnik, Powroznik, Owczary, and Brunary Wyzne.   
Eastern-Ortodox churches Eastern-Ortodox churches Eastern-Ortodox churches
 The tserkvas – bulit between the 14’th and 17’th century - are outstanding examples of the once widespread Orthodox ecclesiastical timber-building tradition in the Slavic countries that survives to this day. The architectural forms of the tserkvas  conform to the requirements of Eastern liturgy while reflecting the cultural traditions of the local communities (Lemko people) that developed separately due to the mountainous terrain. They were built using the horizontal log technique with complex corner jointing, and exhibiting exceptional carpentry skills and structural solutions.  They were raised on wooden sills placed on stone foundations, with wooden shingles covering roofs and walls. The tserkvas with their associated graveyards and sometimes free-standing bell towers are bounded by perimeter walls or fences and gates. The tserkvas bear exceptional testimony to a distinct ecclesiastical building tradition.  The structures, designs and decorative schemes illustrate a multiplicity of symbolic references and sacred meanings related to the traditions.  Almost all tserkvas retain their original doors and locking devices, with inscriptions on the lintels giving the dates of construction and names of carpenters.


Wooden Eastern-Ortodox churches (tserkvas) of the Polish and Ukrainian Carpatian region: Location

Poland GPS latitude/longitude: 50.08534 , 14.26025


Central Europe Countries

PolskaCzech republicSlovakiaHungaryEuropean Quartet Map 

Follow us on facebook

Watch our Channel on


Would you like to receive news?

Copyright © 2010 CzechTourism | Cookies Privacy policy