European Quartet One Melody

Wooden Eastern-Ortodox churches (tserkvas) of Carpathian Region in Poland are located in Southern Poland.  They were inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2013.
The tserkvas – bulit between the 14’th and 17”century are outstanding examples of the once widespread Orthodox ecclesiastical timber-building tradition in the Slavic countries that survives to this day. The architectural forms of the tserkvas  conform to the requirements of Eastern liturgy while reflecting the cultural traditions of the local communities (Lemko people) that developed separately due to the mountainous terrain. They include tserkvas in Powroźnik, Brunary Wyźne, Owczary, Kwiatoń and Turzańsk. Built using the horizontal log technique with complex corner jointing, and exhibiting exceptional carpentry skills and structural solutions, the tserkvas were raised on wooden sills placed on stone foundations, with wooden shingles covering roofs and walls. The tserkvas with their associated graveyards and sometimes free-standing bell towers are bounded by perimeter walls or fences and gates, surrounded by trees.
Wooden Eastern-Ortodox churche

The tserkvas bear exceptional testimony to a distinct ecclesiastical building tradition.  The structures, designs and decorative schemes illustrate a multiplicity of symbolic references and sacred meanings related to the traditions.  Almost all tserkvas retain their original doors and locking devices, with inscriptions on the lintels giving the dates of construction and names of carpenters.



Central Europe Countries

PolskaCzech republicSlovakiaHungaryEuropean Quartet Map 

Follow us on facebook

Watch our Channel on


Would you like to receive news?

Copyright © 2010 CzechTourism | Cookies Privacy policy