European Quartet One Melody

The Churches of Peace (Polish: Kościoły Pokoju, German: Friedenskirchen) in Jawor (German: Jauer) and Świdnica (German: Schweidnitz) in Silesia were named after the Peace of Westphalia of 1648 which permitted the Lutherans in the Roman Catholic parts of Silesia to build three Evangelical churches from wood, loam and straw outside the city walls, without steeples and church bells. The construction time was limited to one year. The churches became the biggest timber-framed religious buildings in Europe due to pioneering construction and architectural solutions. One of the churches (in Głogów) burned down in 1758. Both remaining churches (in Jawor and Świdnica) were restored by a Polish–German cooperation and are now listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites
Churches of PeaceChurches of Peace

The church in Jawor, under the invocation of the Holy Ghost is 43.5-metre long, 14-metre wide and 15.7-metre high and has capacity of 5,500. It was constructed by architect Albrecht von Saebisch (1610–1688) from Wroclaw and was finished in 1655. The 200 paintings inside by were done by Georg Flegel in 1671–1681. The altar, by Martin Schneider, dates to 1672, the original organ of J. Hoferichter from Legnica of 1664 was replaced in 1855–1856 by Adolf Alexander Lummert.
By that time, the town had been part of the Lutheran Kingdom of Prussia for about a century. Another 100 years later, in 1945, the town became part of Poland, as a result of the Potsdam Agreement



Central Europe Countries

PolskaCzech republicSlovakiaHungaryEuropean Quartet Map 

Follow us on facebook

Watch our Channel on


Would you like to receive news?

Copyright © 2010 CzechTourism | Cookies Privacy policy